Crock Pot Chicken Tortilla

I had posted in my meal plan on Monday that I was looking for a recipe using chicken. I had gotten a great deal on some chicken breasts last week. Big Daddy (my head prep chef) had already boiled, de-boned and skinned about 4 of them and had them chopped and ready for use. It is really a blessing to have a husband that is willing to do my dirty work in the kitchen!!!! I remembered Monday night about a great recipe my friend Beverly had put in our church cookbook. I had a lot of errands to run yesterday (in 100+ degree temps no less) followed by open house at our son’s school so it was a perfect night to use the slow cooker. Plus, it fit into my goal of not using the oven this week to cook.

Crock Pot Chicken Tortilla

4 chicken breasts, cooked and diced
1 (8 oz) salsa
1 (8 oz) sour cream
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 can cream of mushroom soup
8 flour tortilla shells, quartered
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Mix salsa, sour cream and soups. In crock pot, layer chicken, sauce, and tortillas, repeating until all ingredients are used. Cook on low for 6 hours or high for 3 hours. Add cheese during last 20 minutes to melt.

This recipe is a big hit with all four of us. I served it with a side of Mexican rice and some black beans. A great, easy Mexican feast!! And something sure to show up in my slow cooker time and time again.

One response »

Leave a Reply

