Recipe Review: Slow Cooker Taco Soup

Last Thursday, I had planned to make a big pot of Slow Cooker Taco Soup, and I am so glad that I did. We were woken up at 5:20 am by the phone ringing alerting us that due to poor weather and road conditions that our children’s school would be closed. WOO HOO!! SNOW DAY IN MISSISSIPPI!!!! We don’t get a lot of those around here so we have to take what we can get. I gathered my ingredients together and got things crocking so I could go out and enjoy the snow while it lasted. Later at supper, my son (who is 7) said to me, “Mama, this sure was a good day to eat soup!” I know when my kids have smiles on their faces and ask for more, that my meal has been a success. I used my 5-quart round Rival and it was pretty full. We all had seconds and still had plenty for leftovers. I served it with shredded Mexican blend cheese and sour cream for garnish and tortilla chips.

The verdict: I will definitely be making this soup again. We all enjoyed it. There are a few things I might would tweak to change it up a bit like exchanging one of the beans for black beans. All in all though, it is a very filling great tasting soup. Perfect for snow days or any day.

Leave a Reply

