Trying this again

When I first started this blog, I wasn’t really sure what exactly I intended it’s purpose to be, so after a few weeks, it sort of fizzled out. I wasn’t really dedicated to getting on here and keeping it up either. I feel like I am ready to give it another try. There has been a good bit of cooking done since I last posted here, a lot of new recipes and ideas tried. What I hope to be able to do is post about the things I am cooking now and stay current while adding in some things over the past few months that worked really well. With all that said, let’s get to the food shall we!!

It was cold and snowy here in Mississippi on Saturday so soup was definitely in order. I grabbed my latest favorite cookbook (ne put together at my church) and headed for Kroger. This soup was satisfying to everyone in the family and it made enough that we were able to have leftovers the next day.

Taco Soup

1 lb. ground beef
1 onion, chopped
1 pkg. Ranch style dressing mix
1 pkg. taco seasoning mix
1 c. water
2 (14.5-oz) cans diced tomatoes with green chilies
2 (15- oz) cans pinto beans
1 (15-oz) can black beans
1 (15-oz) can cream style corn

Brown ground beef with onions in a medium size soup pot. Drain excess fat. Add remaining ingredients and simmer for at least 20 minutes before serving.

Now because I made this for young kids that don’t like spicy food, I substituted plain diced tomatoes for the Rotel. I had some sour cream, shredded cheese and Frito’s to serve with the soup. All in all the family gave this recipe an A+.

One response »

Leave a Reply

