Family Favorites

My friend Mary turned me on to this recipe several months ago and it has quickly become a staple at our house. It is super easy and cheap, plus the kids and Big Daddy all love it. I served it last night with the leftover veggies from Monday nights meal. Here is the recipe:

HAMBURGER STROGANOFF
1 pound ground beef or turkey
1 tbs. butter or oil
1 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 can cream soup (mushroom or chicken)
1/2 cup water
salt and pepper to taste
1 cup sour cream, optional

Heat the oil or butter and sauté the onion and garlic until soft. Add the meat and brown, then drain of any extra fat.

Add the soup, water, salt and pepper and heat through.

Remove from the heat and stir in the sour cream if you’re using it.

Serve over rice or egg noodles.

I had a roll of ground turkey in the fridge, so that it what I used. I have made this recipe several times with both ground beef and ground turkey and it is GREAT with either one. I used less onion than called for and probably a bit more garlic. We prefer the egg noodles, but it is just as good served over rice. I normally put the sour cream in, but if you leave it out it won’t be the end of the world. I always try to keep the ingredients for this meal on hand for nights that we are rushed or I am too tired to cook. It is fast and easy. The ingredients are pretty cheap and I put it way up there on the list of meals that satisfy without breaking your food budget. This meal gets an A+++ from us here at Casa de Insanity.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Back to school week « Insanity Cooks

Leave a Reply

